October 3, 2007

So Much Christian Tennis Fun!

Posted in anastasia kharchenko, christian tennis, Christian Tennis Academy, Christian Tennis Camps, Christian Tennis Mission Trips, Christian Tennis Player, Christian Tennis Ukraine, Emma Hustad, Faith, Fellowship, International Christian Tennis Association, Leadership, melody snelen, Parent Coach Relationship, rachel snelen, scott paschal, Scott Paschal Tennis, Sports Ministry, Typical Parent Visit to ICTA tagged , , , at 8:28 pm by Scott Paschal

 

Ana Forehand ClaycourtsHere are a few pics to share with our ICTABlog family! This one to the left is of Anastasia Kharchenko as she nails a forehand while winning the Finals of a tournament. Notice how high she is off the ground. Awesome.

Ana is a member of the ICTA Women’s Pro Tennis Team. I have been blessed to be her coach and USA dad for a year now! Ana is Ukrainian, and was Ukraine’s #1 junior and was #5 in Europe. She has competed evenly with the world’s top juniors and with the #7 D1 college player in America.

Her dream is to become a top player and share her faith! Ana became a Christian a month after she arrived at ICTA. Ana’s tennis has skyrocketed during her year training with us. I am impressed with her work ethic and determination to improve. While Ana does not yet have Vakulenko’s power, she has better quickness, smoother hands, and is a superior all-around athlete. Vakulenko took about 8-9 years to reach top 50 WTA as she started pro at 14 yrs.

It will be quite exciting to see Ana develop into a top player over the next 5-7 years, when she will be 22-24 yrs. 5-7 years might sound like a long time to a non-tennis person, but in reality it is a short time. I do have my work cut out for me as developing a pro player does not come easily… many mountains must be climbed. Yet, I believe Ana knows God is working in her life, and I’m thrilled for her. If she stays healthy and works very hard, and she can play many, many tournaments and matches worldwide, Ana has the ability make top 100 WTA. But, it will not be easy. nor is it guaranteed. Developing into a pro player takes years of focused determination, not weeks.

This is a really neat pic I’m having made into a big 10×12 in my office wall. By office, I mean my bedroom in my house :). Nasser, B18 #1 USTA, Christian Tennis dot Net But, it’s still my official office! When I think of the amount of days, week, and years that went into this picture coming together, I’m blown away by God’s love and grace.

I don’t want to give names in this pic, except to mention Nasser as without his mentoring and guidance ICTA would have gone belly up long ago, but I do want to say I really appreciate this pic. My friends, students, and the #1 junior in America whose tennis career God has had me help guide for a few years now, especially in ’06-’07.

Like Ana, this young man has the potential to break the top 100 ATP. I believe when he does, God’s name will receive all the fame.

The ICTA high performance tennis program is really unlike any tennis program I have ever seen. The students not only enjoy the Christian atmosphere, but they really enjoy each other. This current group has an amazing bond. I think part ICTA Christian Tennis Missionary Students from 4 Countries at Rock the Universe ‘07of the reason is they come from so many different places in this world.

This pic is a fun one of these world-class athletes kidding around on a Merry-Go-Round at Universal Studios during Rock the Universe ’07. The other one is of David from Australia driving Rachel from USA and Anastasia from Ukraine in a Chinese taxi-bike!

Currently, 7 different countries are represented in my home! I find that both amazing and exciting. Missionaries, kids who love Jesus and want to dive deeper in knowledge of Him, sharing their lives and experiences with each other, while also living with each other in support of ministry.

Which countries?

Indonesia, Ukraine, USA, Mexico, Australia, Japan, and Venezuela.

Each learning leadership skills, each learning the facts of the life, death, and resurrection of Jesus.

Seeing God’s signature in human DNA and the earth’s place in the Universe. Interning with me to grow ICTA while also learning valuable ministry skills.

This weekend will be really exciting! Currently, Joe’s mom, Sue, is here spending a few days with us! Sue has been part of ICTA since 1999 and is one of ICTA’s first 5 members! Joe, one of my former students from ’99 to’05, will be here tomorrow to visit. Joe’s been playing college tennis and is in his second year. Both Joe and his Mom were Mormons before they met us. God worked through Rach, Mel, and myself to open their eyes to the lies of Mormonism, and both are now Christian.ICTA Christian Tennis Missionary Students from 3 Countries at Rock the Universe ‘07

On Friday Brent’s dad, Jim, will be here from Birmingham, Alabama. Remember, I coached Brent a few years ago. Brent went on to play college tennis and is doing so well in his young life. I’m thrilled to see Jim this weekend! Jim is one great guy and a special supporter of ICTA and of Rachel and Melody Snelen.

And on either Saturday evening or Sunday morning, a new international student will arrive from South America! Plus, on Saturday I’m excited for a new Faith & Tennis Camper, and his parents, to arrive from Atlanta to train and play tournaments for a couple of weeks with our ICTA boy’s junior missionary team! We will definitely have a full crew in my house (ICTAHouse) this weekend!

I love it! So great to see years of hard work and God’s blessings tying together in the International Christian Tennis Association.

Thank you for your prayers and emails of support. And a special thank you to FCA’s Emma Hustad (and my former intern!) for sending me a “care package” of my favorite tea (that she got me addicted to!) along with such a special note! Thanks squirt! Thanks for “being” you…

God bless,

Scott Paschal


Leave a Reply

