January 1, 2008

X-Treme New Year!

Posted in anastasia kharchenko, christian tennis, Christian Tennis Academy, Fellowship, ICTA Tennis Ministry, ICTA Women's Christian Pro Tennis Team, International Christian Tennis Association, International Tennis Ministry, melody snelen, rachel snelen, Scott Paschal Tennis, Tennis Athletes in Action, WTA Tennis at 2:25 pm by Scott Paschal

dscf3390.jpgFor the last couple of years I have been so blessed and feel so grateful to have the opportunity to celebrate the new year in Gatlinburg, Tennessee, at the X-treme Winter Conference.

(Pic of Ergun Caner on stage)

An X-treme Conference is something I wish all teens worldwide could experience at least once.

Gatlinburg is a beautiful mountain resort town. Right down the road is Pigeon Forge, Tennessee.

Basically, both places together combine to make a “Grand Slam” doubles team.

dscf3460.jpgThere is so much to do in this area… Skiing, Amusement Parks, Aquariums, Shows, Outlet Shopping, and more….

(Pic of ICTA Women’s Pro Tennis Team celebrating New Year!)

This time of year 100,000 teens invade Gatlinburg/Pigeon Forge with their church groups from all over the region to attend different Christian conferences and spend time with friends.

X-treme Conference for me has been fantastic….

Last night, I sat in the 3rd row with Anastasia and my Indonesian student while Chris Tomlin captured the audience for Christ with amazing worship. He is a blast to watch on stage!dscf3436.jpg

X-treme Conferences are typically a few days long, depending on which one you choose.

(Anastasia Kharchenko posing for a pic)

There are generally 2 session per day, morning and evening. Each session brings among the best Christian Gospel communicators in America, along with a wide assortment of fantastic Christian worship artists.

This year’s Christian bands included Toby Mac, Newsong, Unhindered, DJ Maj, Skillet, Britt Nicole, Sanctus Real, and Chris Tomlin.

Ergin Caner, David Nasser, Johnny Hunt, and Tony Nolan captured the hearts of the youth and the youth leaders with thought provoking messages.

dscf3450.jpgA highlight for me was witnessing hundreds and hundreds of kids come to know Christ as their personal Lord and Savior.

(Pic of Rachel Snelen, Anastasia Kharchenko, and Melody Snelen)

I realize people from well over 100 countries will read this, and 99% of you have never, ever attended a Christian event like X-treme Conferences.

I hope some day you can, though I realize most conferences stay in America which does make it difficult.

I do know Passion Conferences, which are generally for college age, are going global in 2008. Check out www.268generation.com.

Inspirational speakers, fantastic bands, awesome mountain resort town, good friends… I’ve had such a great time

Rachel and Melody Snelen, who co-captain the ICTA Women’s Pro Tennis Team, and Anastasia Kharchenko, a teammate, have been working a friend’sdscf3392.jpg merchandise booth here at X-treme Conference again this year and have had a blast, as well.

(Pic of Rachel Snelen and Anastasia Kharchenko working at the DNO table.

Rach and Mel, have a terrific ministry to the ITF pro tour reaching WTA players, world class juniors, and more.

We’re all packing up to leave tomorrow. I’m looking forward to the drive. I love road trips, especially through mountains!

Before I sign off, I’d like to thank each of you who have written me for Christmas and New Year.

In my Christmas newsletter, I mentioned I was hangin’ with the dog as everybody had gone for the holidays. Upon reading that, you guys immediately flooded my email with love from you!dscf3514.jpg

I also mentioned to send in prayer requests. Thank you so much for those of you who responded. I know this time of year can be difficult. Your entrusting me with your prayer needs really meant the world.

I know that I don’t have the answers, but, together, we can prop each other up and use all situations to glorify Him.

Please send me some stories of what you did for the holidays.

God bless each of you.

Happy New Year!

Scott Paschal

International Christian Tennis Association

Leave a Reply

