October 6, 2008

Business Plans

Posted in Uncategorized tagged , at 5:42 pm by Scott Paschal

ICTA Founder, Scott Paschal, at Pacific Life Open during ICTA Outreach to 300,000 tennis fans

ICTA Founder, Scott Paschal, in ICTA booth at Pacific Life Open, world's 6th largest pro tournament, during ICTA Outreach to 300,000 tennis fans

I turned down an offer from a billionaire.

I know.  Who writes a sentence like that?  I guess the answer is me.  I do.  I write a sentence like that.

Not long ago, a billionaire Christian guy and his amazing wife offered me a once-in-a-lifetime deal.  The whole thing sounded amazing.  I was floored.  And excited.

Yet, as I peered closer at the unexpected opportunity, I felt God leading me away from it.  Little things, little reasons, little whispers guiding me from, not to.  Sure, I worked hard to ignore them.  But, I’m pretty close to God at this point in my life.  And I know when he has other plans.

So, I turned down an offer from a billionaire.

It felt good.  Actually, it felt great.

I like growing.  I like taking calculated risks.  I am an entrepreneur at heart.  As such, I know how to tell the difference between a good thing and a great thing.  The offer I turned down was a good thing.

That said, the offer I accepted was a great thing.

This new offer didn’t come from the billionaire.  It couldn’t.  It’s too big.

The new offer came from God.  It’s the offer he placed in my heart years ago…

Years ago when I was a total loser.  Years ago when I believed every single thing Satan accused me of.  Years ago when I didn’t know demonic activity and spiritual warfare really existed to discourage God’s children from following His plan.  Years ago when I had a big dream and people worked hard to ruin it.

Now, here it is years later and I realize how big God is and how small I am but how big my small is in His guiding hands.

I now realize nothing can happen but by His will.   And I’m even OK knowing I am a loser.   Yet, I thoroughly have come to realize I’d rather be my loser self on God’s tennis court, than a winner on Satan’s.

And though I turned down an amazing offer from a billionaire, as God opened my eyes to see the offer was good, but not great, I have received great confidence realizing further God built me for my very specific purpose in my very specific vapor time on this earth…  and even though not everyone can see my purpose, I know God can and has built me for one thing, His total use.

How can you help, though you’re still trying to figure out what I just wrote?

Well, I need you to pray for me.  My billionaire friend’s opportunity that I turned down was used by God to show me I can easily afford a $1,800,000 bank loan under the right business plan.

What that means is I can borrow and easily pay back $1,800,000.  This would allow International Christian Tennis Association to buy acreage and build tennis courts, office space, and player housing.

And whether or not I choose to continue with International Christian Tennis Association in any capacity for any length of time after my initial 10 year commitment is finished, I do fully understand that this ministry is changing lives for Christ and needs to continue and would value and receive benefit for and from having land, office space, tennis courts, and player housing.

So, as I work through developing a business plan with those God has sent my way, please keep my big dream in your prayers.

This is a really neat time in my life.  I have an amazing group of students from diverse countries worldwide who truly care about me and each other, so coaching remains interesting and purposeful.  My ministry, ICTA, is truly among the most blessed sports ministries in the world.  God has given me a ridiculously healthy body, loving friends & ministry partners, great family, a passionate church…

I’m fortunate.

I know it, too.

And from the blessings God has poured on me, I want to give back.  I think that’s how it’s supposed to work.  Though, some times it’s hard to tell in American Christianity today.

For my special ICTABlog family reading this from well over 100 countries, please keep me in your prayers.  That I remain faithful to His call in my life.  That I stay full of passion and focus and appreciation and humbleness.

Your emails, phone calls, letters, skypes, text messages… they mean a lot to me.  Your prayers and friendship keep me going and keep me motivated to keep shining for Jesus in a pathetically dark, demonic tennis industry.

Please keep God’s business plans for ICTA on your prayer list this week, and please ask your friends to pray for us as well!
God bless,

Scott Paschal

International Christian Tennis Association

Leave a Reply

