May 28, 2009

Sumter, South Carolina

Posted in Uncategorized at 10:47 am by Scott Paschal

ICTA Founder, Scott Paschal, at Pacific Life Open during ICTA Outreach to 300,000 tennis fans

ICTA Founder, Scott Paschal, at Pacific Life Open during ICTA Outreach to 300,000 tennis fans

Spent 6 awesome days on a Christian outreach in Sumter, SC.

Great little town.  Good food!  Interesting mix of cultures in Sumter.  Deep South meets preppy…

Our outreach was to an ITF Pro Circuit tournament.

Enjoyed a 5-6 hour drive to get there.  Road trips rock!

A player from Nigeria came in to join us for the summer as a member of the ICTA Women’s Pro Tennis Team.

Will be fun coaching her. I have come to really care about Nigeria, so I hope I learn a lot from her lifetime of experience growing up in Lagos!

My player Anastasia Kharchenko and Vasilina Bardina competing in main draw doubs.

My player, Anastasia Kharchenko, and Vasilina Bardina (Russia) competing in main draw doubs together.

My hope is she will benefit, too.

That her faith will be challenged and strengthened.

That God will grow and develop her to see new things, to see the world through the eyes of a Christian athlete who can inspire….

One highlight for me in Sumter was meeting and talking with a player. I don’t want to mention her name, but I do want to mention her to you.   She is at a crossroads in her life and can use your prayers.

Life for some players is really easy. For others it isn’t.  This player is pretty much in the Life is Bad section. I’ve enjoyed talking with her each day.  I hope I made some kind of an impact.

Anastasia Kharchenko forehand in qualifying match.

Anastasia Kharchenko forehand in qualifying match.

My players and I drove back to Palm Coast, yesterday.  Fun drive.  Went by fast.

Newb was here mowing my yard when we got in.

Newb, aka: Jonathan… is heading off to college next semester.

Have coached him for 4 years.  Great kid.

Did I mention Newb has lost around 50lbs of body fat in the last 5-6 months!

He’s done a great job disciplining himself and getting into shape!

Look forward to watching him play matches in college.

Leaving for Hilton Head Island, SC., in a couple days for another Christian outreach on the pro circuit….  I’m looking forward to the road trip with the players. Road trips are great times to talk.  Hilton Head is a good place, too.

The tournament is at Van Der Meer’s tennis academy.  Stan Smith’s tennis academy is nearby.  Will be a lot of good players… and a lot of good ministry opportunity.

I think we are leaving Saturday.

Sorry I haven’t written lately.  Been pretty busy.  Will try to write from Hilton Head and maybe post some pics/video for you.

God bless,

Coach Scotty

International Christian Tennis Association

Leave a Reply

